What You Think | radioinfo.com.au

What You Think

User Opinion Story
Nobby66
28 April 2017 - 7:55pm
Ratings also need to include community stations, and perhaps to stations within 50K's of each CBD as well.

I listen to 4our, its Caboolture centric but caters for Moreton Bay region, its coverage is most of central, north and east Brisbane up to lower end of Sunshine coast, they are a classic hits format for "most" of the day and overnight, my only other choice for classic hits is Brisbane's 4kq.

So if you love teh 70's and 80's, what are you going to listen to, mono, hollowy AM? Or crisp stereo FM? I know what I listen to :)

“Eight yearly radio ratings just can’t be the sole metric any more,” Michael Mason.
Jackerbon
28 April 2017 - 4:31pm
Rather odd ...you failed to recognise the Bondi 88 FM who took a peanut operation from container on the roof of the Diggers club to the Bondi Golf Course and then to its glory days @ Hotel Bondi, establishing it Locally and overseas with over 1,500,000 web hits per month ,with webcams streaming and 24 -7 audio streaming ..on ISDN !!! Also covering the Australian 2000 Olympic games live to japan .....where were you ?
Over 45 programs per week on the cutting edge without advertisements !!! You must have been asleep ...! Jackerbon
Will the real Bondi Radio please stand up?
Eugene Delargy
27 April 2017 - 10:26am
Brisbane 973 breakfast is down again. How's that decision going? Lot of work for Nic and Liam.

Shows the attack promos of 'listener' 'Ruth of Redland Bay' did not work either.
Survey 2 2017 results: Smooth and Nova rising
michaeljones
26 April 2017 - 8:26am
Weigh it up. Not using the F bomb is guaranteed not to turn off anyone. Using the F bomb will most likely turn off some people. It's about numbers. Warning! Coarse Language on your Radio
Drano
24 April 2017 - 7:33pm
Great to see those photos of Radio 10 staff on the website! Some I've managed to work with, after the station's demise. I look forward to catching up with the Boogiecheck once again. I still have my Fantastic Plastic card somewhere.

I always remember the station adding in a whispered "Stereo 10" in the opening of the Eurythmics' 1987 song Beethoven (I Love to Listen to).
Radio 10 resurrected in Queensland
J2koffline
21 April 2017 - 12:21pm
4ZZZ and all metro-wide community radio stations in Brisbane, Adelaide, Melbourne, Perth and Sydney do have DAB+ services.

4ZZZ's DAB+ service is called ZED Digital and offers a jukebox service during the day but new programming after 6pm each night, see http://www.4zzzfm.org.au/program/zed_digital
Where is the best-sounding radio in the world?
Tom Osborn
19 April 2017 - 1:16pm
So sad to hear. I recall my ABC addiction started in Newcastle in the late 70s and early 80s with Libby Sanders and David Sayers. Vale Libby Sanders 2NC 1233: Funeral details
brianc68
18 April 2017 - 3:43pm
Yes James we should have a coffee! I agree with your comments and I do have a DAB radio thankfully so at least I can receive 4KQ in stereo and also get Smooth FM that way. But for most people who don't have DAB - particularly in the car - Brisbane radio is a wasteland of southern networking with very little choice on the FM dial for the over 40yo. I agree there are some good choices on community radio, but I just can't believe that a city this size has only 4 commercial FM stations. It's just not right. Townsville has 4 commercial FM stations and it's about 1/10 of the size. ACMA will yabber on about the lack of spectrum, and yet you have a situation where a multi-cultural TALK station like 4EB is on FM! So community talk stations get high-power FM stations and no classic hits or Smooth on FM? The only other option for people in Brisbane is the overspill of great stations like Breeze FM and Rebel FM which are usually ok in the car. But really, in 2017 in a city this size, is that acceptable? Where is the best-sounding radio in the world?
jamescridland
18 April 2017 - 2:41pm
Brianc68 - you and I need to have a coffee! I'm at james@cridland.net ;)

There's much you say that I agree with; though you ought to buy yourself a DAB set and get a bit more choice (most notably 4KQ in stereo, and Smooth too). I'm a bit disappointed at the amount of networking from Sydney or Melbourne on all the stations here, particularly 4BC (and, oddly, ABC Radio Brisbane, where great swathes are from Sydney); but the choice and quality is greater here than in many places.

You've also forgotten the delights of 4ZZZ, 96.5, 98.9 and the rest of the community sector. I'd listen to 4ZZZ more if it was on my radio; but my sets are mostly DAB and it isn't on that.
Where is the best-sounding radio in the world?
brianc68
18 April 2017 - 9:56am
I'm not sure where the best radio is, but I can tell you where it's not. Brisbane! Here we have a city with 2.4 million people and only FOUR commercial FM stations! There is no classic hits station on FM - we have a crackly AM 4KQ. There is no easy listening/soft AC station on FM (e.g. no Smooth FM). All 4 commercial FM stations target under 40s. Triple M has morphed into some sort of talkback/sport station so there are really only THREE music-focused commercial FM stations - for a city of 2.4 million people!!!! All three target under 40s! HIT and Nova playing CHR and 97.3 FM playing the most bland, repetitive and safest playlist known to man. How is it possible that a city of this size has such a limited choice on commercial FM? It is clear that for FM formats to include easy listening (Smooth) or classic hits (Gold/WS) then there needs to more than FOUR commercial FM stations. Surely cities the size of Brisbane and Perth should have at least 5 commercial FM stations - then at least one of them would adopt a classic hits or easy listening format. It's a major failure of the ACMA when choice is so limited on FM in Brisbane. Small towns in New Zealand have double the number of commercial FM stations.

As for good radio, I do enjoy Los Angeles. So much variety and some pretty good stations like KOST and K-Earth and The Sound.
Where is the best-sounding radio in the world?

Pages

radioinfo ABN: 87 004 005 109  P O Box 6430 North Ryde NSW 2113 Australia.  T: 0413 790 666 02 9888 5705  |  All content © 2012. All Rights Reserved.