What You Think | radioinfo

What You Think

User Opinion Story
Anthony The Koala
18 July 2019 - 6:22am
This is not about Kyle and Jackie O. Rather it is a comment on magazines which report sensational stories about relationships of celebrities, relationships between famous couples and the 'goings on' in any royal family.

The patterns I have observed are the stories have sensational headlines at the front of the magazine, and the stories have no more than two to four columns accompanied by large photos where the large photos may bear no relation to the alleged reported story.

The types of stories are: (i) a celebrity or sporting couple's marriage on the rocks, yet they're happily married, (ii) a story about a tit-for-tat of a member of any Royal Family arguing or making an adverse opinion about another member of any Royal family. Those stories may go on for several months. It may even include the story of a celebrity who changed his/her actual name or altering his/her age making out that the person is bad. So what? Lots of celebrities have a showbiz name, authors have a nom de plume and even well known musicians have changed their names as the authors of particular compositions.

These magazines seem to have lost their moral compass. What ever happened to "thou shalt not bear false witness against God"? Publications purportedly telling stories about famous people and lying about these famous people and readers gossiping about these stories is not healthy.

To put the issue in context, these publications were once reporting the news and goings on of famous people without being sensational or rude. They used to have personal advice columns for readers' own issues. Today it is lying in order to make money.

Furthermore, these magazines are unlike those satirical and sensational publications such as "Weekly World News", formerly hard copy now online and the "Betoota Advocate". With these publications, we know that they are satirical and/or sensational and expect these to be works of fiction.

Thank you,
Anthony of really exciting Belfield
More lies in New Idea. Why do they come up with these lies: Kyle and Jackie
Raymond
18 July 2019 - 1:05am
Maybe I'm missing something here but if 4KQ is so successful on different platforms, how do the ratings show it #2 station when the survey is for AM listenership? Or does it add results of AM and DAB?

As a younger person interested in media, I don't listen to AM stations or use a radio the way I used to. My other devices connect to everything I want from anywhere I choose.

I think AM could have had a few more years left, but the transmission power in Australian cities like Brisbane, Sydney and Melbourne is far less than in the US, for example. Signals that once got through the less cluttered airspace, don't penetrate like they did.

Radio generally would have had a better future here with more stations on FM, but industry is too protected and the choice isn't there as in other countries.

DAB may help replace AM with better sound but signals are often patchy and newer technology has overtaken the old.



EDITOR: Good points, thanks for your comment.
On your question about the AM/FM charts including DAB listenership - the answer is, yes they do.
The orange charts in our ratings reports list stations that are on either on the AM or FM bands - the figures quoted incorporate their digital listening (DAB and online). The purple charts in our reports list additional stations that are only on DAB+, but not heard on the AM or FM band.
Radio - not just AM and FM
Tejas
17 July 2019 - 2:47pm
as someone not in the industry (but with an interest) the first rule should be availability. I have a house full of smart speakers i use to listen to radio (I don't even know if i own an am radio any more)

If i ask my alexa to play a station and it can't - i don't keep trying. I'll find another station or play spotify.

it's also smart to be on these devices for an older skewing station because a lot of older people are now getting these smart speakers (generally as a gift) as a health and safety measure. we recently got one for my 98 year old grand father in case he has a fall he can contact me through my speaker, or the one my mother owns.
Radio - not just AM and FM
Anthony The Koala
17 July 2019 - 1:58pm
First I will not discuss Israel Folau's case before the court. Nor will I discuss employment law and/or contract law and/or defamation law.

I relate this incident of the subject of the article to my time at a private boy's school. If you were a student of this school, and I can presume there are other private schools which enforce such a policy, one had to maintain the reputation of the school at school and out-of-school. The conduct may include such behaviours as improperly wearing of the correct uniform, improper behaviour while wearing the uniform. It may also include improper behaviour even when not wearing the uniform. Such conduct could occur on weekends including and not including sporting functions.

In other words the reputation of the school could be affected by improper conduct of its students even when not wearing the uniform. To illustrate if a student or students from a particular college were caught breaking the law such as reckless damage to private or public property or other criminal activity could result students receiving disciplinary action. That may include the expulsion of students. That is in addition to any legal proceedings. It has happened at my college and other colleges (boys and girls colleges) because the student or students have given the college a bad reputation. I won't name the college or colleges where such behaviour has occurred. The question becomes, how would the college community consisting of students, teachers and families feel after hearing that a student or students were behaving badly?

Therefore it follows that if an employee or contractor or supplier engages in any alleged unlawful conduct and there is publicity that associates the employee or contractor or supplier with a particular business entity, then it puts strains on the business entity. The business entity does not want to be seen or associated with such bad light. An example would be the time required by the particular business entity to answer questions from the public or it could mean the possible loss of business.

The lesson for the employee or contractor or supplier (of goods and/or services) is to be on your best behaviour and think of the consequences of the behaviour since it may affect your own employment or contracts.

Thank you,
Anthony of exciting Belfield
Matthew Cooper is stripped of his position at SCA, but Kyle offers him a job
Radio Fanatic
15 July 2019 - 7:17am
'......the right people to support that talent'
The only thing I agree with him here.
I worked for Peter for a number of years (I won't name the station). Nice guy, but had no idea how to run the place. There were several talented managers that supported him though. He still made several terrible decisions that were immediately overturned when he left the station
Talk Talent not confined to Sydney and Melbourne: Peter Brennan
Anthony The Koala
14 July 2019 - 10:27am
This demonstrates that it is possible for an AM music station to rate. I have commented elsewhere that DAB is the "levelling the playing field" for AM and FM stations and that it has been done with 2CH (Sydney). I have also said that 2CH has the best quality DAB signal amongst all AM (except 2GB (talk) @ 128kbs) and FM stations including its 'closest' rivals Smooth (2PTV) and WSFM (2UUS).

However 2CH has been consistently rating at around 3.4%-3.6%. It has never recovered from it's beautiful music/elevator music/Muzak format from 1987 where it topped the ratings beating FM. Again proof of an AM music station topping the ratings.

While I do believe is that there is a saturation of stations of the classic hits or CA or CHR with a classic hits/oldies particularly in the Sydney market. I mentioned this on this site about the Newcastle-based internet station 2UW targeting oldies, the oldies market may well be shrinking as time passes in a similar way the oldies market may well be shrinking for 2CH.

What to do? One could utilise a 'moving window' of what you define as classic hits. In the eighties, it was the 50s, 60s and 70s. In the 90s, it was the 70s, 80s and 90s. If you follow the pattern for each decade the earliest decade is dropped. So in the future say 2030, the "classic hits" will be the music of the 2010s, 2020s and 2030s. That is 'approximately' the model used by 2UW then Mix106.5 (2WFM) and Kiis (2WFM). You could also say something similar with 2Day (2Day) that is more contemporary and rhythmic. But somehow 2Day (2Day) has a 1990s tinge.

But if you want to funnel oldies/classics into an easy listening format such as 2CH it is going to get more difficult. For example JJ and JJJ in the 80s some of the music covered included music from Annie Lennox, UB40, Tim Finn and Skyhooks. Today they would be regarded as classic hits. But listen today to JJJ and FBi, it would be hard to find which hits would be the easy listening classic hits of tomorrow.

I doubt the aged-care facilities in the 2050s the patients/clients will be singing "Long Way To Tipperary" and "Roll Out The Barrell". Perhaps they'll be singing "I'm Too Sexy For My Shirt" and "Smells Like Teen Spirit".

Sorry I digress about the logical extent of popular music in the future.

If a radio station wants to create a niche of easy listening music, don't rely on classic hits. There are other contemporary artists that are popular but don't get airplay but at the same time are easy listening. For example, Dianna Krall, Eliane Elias, Emma Pask, Tom Burlinson, Josh Groban. Why not Andre Rieu and other light classical music. That could also include 'classic hits' easy listening music. Why not Percy Faith, James Last, Bert Kaempfert and Sergio Mendes?

As I said elsewhere on this site, the market must be tested without any confirmation bias by management. Perhaps management might consider extending the duration of a song. Instead of the three minute or "radio edit" version of a song, perhaps test whether people like slightly longer versions.

Thank you
Anthony of really exciting and really dynamic Belfield.
New platforms key to 4KQ's resurgence: Laurel Edwards
Radioman
12 July 2019 - 6:19am
Please check the link in the story regarding the latest listenership data as it is pointing to a page that does not exist.

EDITOR: Thanks. All links checked and working now.
FBi Radio listenership up again
Archibald
9 July 2019 - 11:38am
If ever there was a case for someone having a good manager Chris Smith is it.
Sad really.... to 90% of the audience he sounds like Ray Hadley and the original idea was probably the best.

Steve Price confirmed to replace Chris Smith on 2GB Afternoons
Anthony The Koala
7 July 2019 - 9:03pm
One remark and one question.
Remark:
If you saw the movie "Vice" about former US VP Mr Richard Cheney, removing any theatrical licence, it was Mr Cheney who advised US President Mr Nixon to drop the requirement that broadcasters discuss both sides of a story. Amongst the other presidential advisers was a younger Mr Roger Ailes. The author of this article postulates that if CNN was 'conservative' then "Fox News" may have taken a "non-conservative" view.

It follows that a broadcaster's particular narrative, whether 'conservative' or 'non-conservative' is constructed in order to fulfil the market for a particular kind of listener/viewer.

Then one has to question whether the presenters at a particular radio network have to take a particular narrative. A hint of this is in Mike Carlton's book "On Air" where Mike Carlton (at 2UE) refused the request by upper management to take a 'right-wing' approach to news. Here is a hypothetical question. Would 2GB employ 'non-conservative'/progressive articulate and intelligent commentators such as David Marr or Van Badham?

Question:
There has been a big promotion of the series "The Loudest Voice" on radio. But the issue is that in order to watch the series, one has to subscribe to an IP streaming service in order to view the series. I don't want to subscribe for movies or series that I am not interested.

I would like to know if there will be a dvd release of "The Loudest Voice". I'll be one of the first to buy.

Thank you,
Anthony of exciting Belfield
The Loudest Voice: a lesson in content strategy
Anthony The Koala
5 July 2019 - 4:17pm
Typically, ABC666 (2CN) & RN (846, 2RN formerly 2CY) has approximately triple and double the audience of 2CC at 12%+ and 8%+ respectively. In other markets, RN rates 2%-3%. A typical ratings result for the Canberra market can be found at https://www.gfk.com/en-au/insights/report/radio-audience-measurement-survey-summary-reports/ .

Alan Jones will have an uphill battle to increase the market share of 2CC's audience. Otherwise it will be a first for a Sydney-based broadcaster, Fran Kelly beating the other Sydney-based broadcaster Alan Jones.

Anthony, from exciting and dynamic Belfield

2CC adds Alan Jones for breakfast

Pages

radioinfo ABN: 87 004 005 109  P O Box 6430 North Ryde NSW 2113 Australia.  |  All content © 2012. All Rights Reserved.