Steve Smith wins ABC's McGilvray Medal | radioinfo

Steve Smith wins ABC's McGilvray Medal

Thursday 08 January, 2015
Jim Maxwell, Ross McGilvray, Steve Smith

Steve Smith is the winner of the McGilvray Medal for ABC Grandstand’s Test Cricketer of the Year for 2014.

Smith narrowly pipped David Warner and Mitchell Johnson in the votes cast by the ABC Radio Grandstand commentary team including Jim Maxwell, Drew Morphett and Quentin Hull.

In the calendar year Smith scored 1,146 runs at an average of 81.85 including five centuries. He also took five wickets, several outstanding catches and captained the team in two Tests taking over from the injured Michael Clarke.

The McGilvray Medal was named in honour of Alan McGilvray who was the ABC’s legendary voice of cricket for fifty years.

The medal is being presented to Steve Smith now, just prior to play on Thursday 8 January of the Sydney Test Match.

Post a Comment


Log InYou must be logged in to post comments.
radioinfo ABN: 87 004 005 109  P O Box 6430 North Ryde NSW 2113 Australia.  |  All content © 2012. All Rights Reserved.