ABC Local Radio Awards winners 2004 | radioinfo

ABC Local Radio Awards winners 2004

Sunday 09 May, 2004

Winners of the 2004 ABC Local Radio Awards have been announced at a presentation ceremony hosted by last year's Station of the Year, ABC 774, at Federation Square, Melbourne.

The major ‘Station of the Year’ Awards went to 702 ABC Sydney (Metropolitan) and Rockhampton’s ABC Capricornia (Regional).

702 ABC Sydney’s Richard Glover was named Broadcaster of the Year. All the winners are listed below.

Established in 2001 and open to all staff contributing to the ABC’s nine metropolitan and 51 regional stations, the Awards are designed to celebrate the best of Local Radio across Australia.

The Awards were attended by key community and industry representatives, politicians, and ABC staff. The ceremony is part of a two-day forum covering issues affecting ABC Local Radio program-makers across Australia.

Director ABC Radio and Awards judge Sue Howard said the awards showcase the very best of ABC Local Radio.

“There have been some wonderful moments in radio over the past 12 months and tonight was an opportunity to celebrate our contribution to the radio landscape in Australia. On behalf of the ABC, I’d like to congratulate all the Awards finalists, particularly those who had success this evening.”

Hosted by the ABC’s James O’Loghlin, the Awards were presented by Victorian Deputy Premier John Thwaites, ABC Managing Director Russell Balding, CEO of ‘Our Community’ Rhonda Galbally, Director of ABC New Media and Digital Services Lynley Marshall, Director ABC Radio Sue Howard, and the Coodabeen Champions’ Jeff Richardson and Ian Cover.



Outstanding Contribution to Local Radio by a Sports Broadcaster

QLD & ACT - Tim Gavel and Gerry Collins for the coverage of the 2003 Rugby Union World Cup

Comedy Segment of the Year

QLD - Anna Daniels and Michelle Crowther for “Rockin’ with Russ”

Marketing Campaign of the Year

National - Rugby World Cup 2003 - Patsy Rea and Simon Nicholas

Networked Program of the Year

National - Overnights / Early Mornings with Trevor Chappell

Online Feature/Website of the Year

NSW - Peter Gunders for

Best New Talent on Local Radio

QLD - Jane Cowan

Community Event of the Year

NSW - 702 ABC Sydney Breakfast Knit-In

Local Program of the Year (Metropolitan)

NSW - Breakfast with Angela Catterns – 702 ABC Sydney

Local Program of the Year (Regional)

QLD - Mornings with Chris Lawson - ABC Capricornia

Outstanding Coverage of a Local Story

NT - 105.7 ABC Darwin and Territory Radio for “Don’t Miss The Train”

Outside Broadcast of the Year

NSW - 702 ABC Sydney for “Four Sydneys in One Day”

VIC - 774 ABC Melbourne for “Wheelchair Challenge” - Jon Faine and the Morning Team,

Outstanding Radio Feature/Package by an Individual

ACT - Claire Gorman for “Death and Dying: Breaking the Taboo” –
666 ABC Canberra

Producer of the Year

WA - Brad McCahon - 720 ABC Perth

Radio Promotion Producer of the Year

NT - Robert Smith - 105.7 ABC Darwin

Rural Reporter of the Year

WA - Sinead Mangan

Broadcaster of the Year

NSW - Richard Glover - 702 ABC Sydney

Station of the Year (Regional)

QLD - ABC Capricornia

Station of the Year (Metropolitan)

NSW - 702 ABC Sydney

radioinfo congratulates all the winners!

Post a Comment


Log InYou must be logged in to post comments.
radioinfo ABN: 87 004 005 109  P O Box 6430 North Ryde NSW 2113 Australia.  |  All content © 2012. All Rights Reserved.