2018 New Zealand Radio Awards winners | radioinfo

2018 New Zealand Radio Awards winners

Friday 11 May, 2018

And 40th anniversary celebrations for NZ Radio Awards. 

The winners of the 2018 New Zealand Radio Awards were last night announced at a Gala Awards ceremony at Auckland’s Shed 10, with the event also celebrating the 40th anniversary of the NZ Radio Awards.

The show was presented by Amanda Gillies & Nickson Clark from MediaWorks, Kerre Woodham & Vaughan Smith from NZME and John Campbell & Kim Hill from RNZ.

NZ Radio Awards Chairman, Jana Rangooni said “it was a wonderful opportunity to celebrate all the great talent in our industry not just those who won tonight and especially pleasing to have the whole New Zealand radio industry back together with RNZ coming back into the awards this year“.

MediaWorks’ Mai FM Network took first place honors for the ‘Network Station of the Year’, while ‘Station of the Year–Non-Surveyed Market’ went to 1XX in Whakatane for the second year in a row, and More FM Canterbury awarded ‘Station of the Year–Surveyed Market’, again for the second year in a row. ​

NZME radio station, ZM, took out ‘Best Music Breakfast Show Network’ with ZM’s Fletch, Vaughan and Megan. Mike Hosking from Newstalk ZB was awarded ‘Best Talk Presenter–Breakfast or Drive’ with Marcus Lush from Newstalk ZB being the successful winner of the ‘Best Talk Presenter–Other category’, for the second year in a row.

The ‘Sir Paul Holmes Broadcaster of the Year’ award went to 1XX in Whakatane for their coverage of the 2017 Edgecumbe floods. This year there were two awards made for ‘Outstanding Contribution to Radio’ - the first was awarded to Mike Hosking and the second to Jay-Jay Feeney.

Full list of winners here

Post a Comment


Log InYou must be logged in to post comments.
radioinfo ABN: 87 004 005 109  P O Box 6430 North Ryde NSW 2113 Australia.  |  All content © 1996-2020. All Rights Reserved.