What You Think | radioinfo

What You Think

User Opinion Story
Blondie
20 December 2018 - 12:03pm
I HATE what Macquarie have done to 2UE. They've lost a huge number of listeners. As my local pharmacist said, there's nothing to listen to any longer. So it was goodbye 2UE and hello FM.

What makes my blood boil is 2UE hasn't even the courtesy to maintain the Lifestyle website. Many of us would love to download old podcasts and listen to them at least.

So typical of modern-day business practice. No consultation with the very listeners who supported the station; just slash and burn.

As for 2GB, it's attempts to coax back listeners by re-introducing SOME of the old favs such as Simon Stevenson - well, it's a drop in the ocean.

I hope there's an entrepreneur out there who will gather the former presenters together and launch a new Lifestyle station.
Talking Lifestyle dropped for sports format at 2UE
Anthony The Koala
18 December 2018 - 12:04pm
The ratings analysis for MSR in the last paragraph sums it all. In Sydney, MRS (2UE) was heavily promoted before and during Survey 8's measuring period especially for its cricket broadcasts, it beat Sky (2KY). The Melbourne and Brisbane ratings with a 50% drop and 50% increase respectively appear to be unremarkable. Even with Sydney's rating leading, will they increase in audience share with their heavy such that MSR's business model is self-sustaining. Remember that MSR is labour-intensive with its experienced commentators (as broadcasters and former champions)
Regards
Anthony of exciting Belfield
Analysis: radio ratings survey 8 2018
ceejay
17 December 2018 - 9:56am
I'm offended by your use of the US spelling "offense" in Australia. Ban it at once! How to find offense on the radio without really trying
Anthony The Koala
14 December 2018 - 2:06pm
Even if the music on high rotation is great, please oh please no more high rotations such as selections from "Brothers In Arms" especially "Sultans of Swing", "Old Time Rock 'n' Roll", "Walking On Sunshine", "Maggie May" and "Sacrifice".

While I like these songs, there is more to classic hits than the above described.

Anthony of exciting Belfield
Changes at GOLD and WSFM
T K
10 December 2018 - 1:26pm
Ah, finally ... the end of Em Rusciano!

But why did it take SO long?

And WHY does it take so MANY people to make a (potentially) successful breakfast show? Talk about overkill!

Well as least that annoying female is gone.

Ash London moves into permanent breakfast role at 2Day
johnnyb
4 December 2018 - 3:10pm
I wonder whether we have created some sort of record out here in the Hawkesbury???

As of today, ACMA has issued FOUR temporary broadcast licences to FOUR different community groups. They all share the same 89.9FM frequency, and ACMA has sliced the week into FOUR time slots; each group being awarded a day or two here and there. The air is electric with the sound of transmitters sizzling and crackling, keeping us awake at night, as one group shuts down transmission and another cranks up.

Each group issues breathless press releases, claiming undying allegiance and support from 99% of the local community, while Presenters get tossed to the lions every time there's a schedule change.

Station sponsors aren't too sure who's advertising what and when; the net effect (I suspect) is that total advertising revenue has fallen faster than a dead frog in the Hawkesbury River.

Complaints, accusations, lies and devious intrigues are not uncommon,,,,

I JUST LOVE COMMUNITY RADIO!!!!

Hawkesbury Radio, who were one of only two community stations to lose their licence in 2017, keep posting messages on their web page that scream "we are not dead". (No one wants to tell them.)

May the temporary licences last forever, may the entertainment never cease.
Windsor-Hawkesbury Community Radio hopes for more air time as ACMA decision looms
Steve Ahern
3 December 2018 - 9:01am
Thanks for the shout out Pete!

I am just leaving Casablanca now in fact.
Next stop Singapore then Kuala Lumpur.

Watch out for a big announcement for the Asia Pacific radio industry on Thut from KL.

Steve
Australian radio's talent drain
Anthony The Koala
28 November 2018 - 2:17am
Commencing news bulletins with an Indigenous greeting is not new. If you have the opportunity to view TVNZ's news bulletins, Maori and non-Maori presenters start the bulletin with "kia ora" meaning hello.

We could learn from our trans-Tasman brothers and sisters on incorporating an acknowledgement of their Indigenous ancestors at the beginning of the news bulletin with our Indigenous version of hello.

Given that there are 250 known but 120 practiced Indigenous languages source https://aiatsis.gov.au/explore/articles/indigenous-australian-languages it would be great to have linguistic experts come up with an Indigenous greeting at the start of a news bulletin.

Ms Boney led the way by announcing "Yaama" at the start of the bulletin.

Regards
Anthony of exciting Belfield
Personnel and program changes at the j's
MUSOMAN
27 November 2018 - 10:47am
Congratulations to Convoy Founder and i98FM Breakfast Show host Marty Haynes and everyone, that sum is very impressive, from us all at AVW Broadcast St Leonards wishing you well on the hill at i98fm,
[AVW Supporting Commercial and CBAAA across the country].


i98FM’s Illawarra Convoy raises $2 million
Walkley Award Winning Journalist
25 November 2018 - 8:44pm
Our industry lost all credibility last night. A popularity contest has replaced real journalism Audio wins at Walkley's

Pages

radioinfo ABN: 87 004 005 109  P O Box 6430 North Ryde NSW 2113 Australia.  |  All content © 2012. All Rights Reserved.