What You Think | radioinfo

What You Think

User Opinion Story
WendyJW
28 October 2017 - 4:56pm
I will certainly miss her in-depth interviews and the interesting music choices of her guests... Margaret Throsby's last ever Classic FM interview
ex ABC
27 October 2017 - 5:23pm
It's one of the sad realities of the broadcast industry today. At least in Ultimo there are still a handful of engineers who know something about the system, everywhere else you have to sit and wait on the IT helpline and even when you get through, chances are the person at the other end knows more about Microsoft Word than they do about broadcast infrastructure. Welcome to the 21st century!! Quo Vadis triple j?
Nobby66
23 October 2017 - 4:43pm
I commend RRR for this stand, however it should not be "secret", the stations reason is most reasonable and acceptable, it shouldn't hide behind that, and if asked, make it known that is why.
Neil Mitchell slams Triple R Anglican Church ban
Tony Currie
16 October 2017 - 9:12pm
A thoughtful piece from a man ther BBC ought not to have lost. I have - in my 54 year radio career - voice tracked, and I have not. In my day it was simple 'recorded', which nobody batted an eye at. Now although I record syndicated radio programmes for many parts of the world, my paid gig is at the BBC as a television announcer-director (i.e. we speak and push buttons). What makes that work is watching the shows WITH the viewer. I do an end credit squeeze/voiceover and empathise. If I'm pumped with excitement, so is my listener (always, always singular, people!) - if I'm an emotional wreck, so is my viewer. I always reflect that. Likewise radio - coming off the back of a piece of music requires you to have HEARD the track. Otherwise you are a dull, cold, unfeeling robot. VT works best when the presenter knows the music intimately - otherwise, it's a load of utter crap. Voice-tracking: wrong for radio?
Tony Currie
16 October 2017 - 9:03pm
Once upon a time (when I started in radio 54 years ago) what is now called 'voice tracking' was simply 'recorded'. And there's nothing wrong with pre-recording programmes, or parts thereof. James describes the 'problem' very well (as he always does - a man who the BBC 'lost' to their discredit) but I'd like to make a couple of observations. Radio relies heavily on engagement. The voice coming out of the speakers needs to engage with the brain at the other end. That doesn't have to be in real time. I pre-record a handful of syndicated shows each week and they are popular and successful, because I record them with the same attitude (for younger readers, this means mindset!) that I'd use for a live programme. But although recorded, they are produced in realtime. So I listen to the music I'm playing, respond appropriately and move on. Now for my full time paid job I'm a BBC television announcer-director. (Which means I speak and put the programmes to air at the same time) My voiceover end credits works best when I have watched the programme with my viewer (our audiences are always singular) and reacted in an empathetic way. At the end of a very exciting programme, I'm excited. For a sad and emotional programme, I'm sad and emotional. Or 'real' as the current generation would have it. And thereby hangs the key -radio has to be 'real' to be successful. Voice tracking without the remotest bit of engagement with what has gone before is clinical, and deadly. (I know - I've done it) and listening to it you get the sense that the presenter is a robot. It turns listeners off (often they won't pinpoint what's wrong, but they will sure as hell recognise that it ain't real) and pushes ratings down. Voicetrack or not? That's simply down to the talent and professionalism of the presenjter, a group of folk who corporate radio treat like shit. Hey, coporate radio man (and yes, I DO mean you, Richard Park, my once friend and colleague) wise up!! The balance sheet is important of course, but so are the ears attached to3 your radios! Voice-tracking: wrong for radio?
Eugene Delargy
12 October 2017 - 10:58am
This is due to SCA sending the feed from its hub in Sydney.

Regional stations don't take it off the satellite or DVN/landline and air it direct.

The nub of it is that it saves on that pesky expense of panel ops.

Clearly that cost cutting extends to SCA not wanting to develop an Orange only feed at a sufficient buffer that allows for Hadley's program to be silenced in advance to that station only.
Triple M stations pull Hadley feed again: listeners not happy
tillycat
11 October 2017 - 8:06pm
What a cricketer he was. All-rounder Simon O'Donnell joins 1116 SEN
Margaret
8 October 2017 - 10:20pm
Smooth FM Melbourne can thank the demise of Magic 1278 for improved ratings!!!!!!! Analysis: radio ratings survey 6
peterspark
7 October 2017 - 7:13pm
Looking for information on Mollie Richardson who was part of the Kangaroo Club in 1940s and 1950s and played the accordion. She worked under Dick Moore. looking for a photo of Mollie at that time. She was known as Aunty Mollie. Any help appreciated. Doing a family history. When 5AD was king of the kids
ceejay
7 October 2017 - 12:23pm
Or maybe you should read this http://www.latimes.com/entertainment/envelope/cotown/la-et-ct-cbs-announces-cbs-radio-sale-20160315-story.html
or this https://therealdeal.com/la/2017/09/27/cbs-interviewed-brokers-to-sell-its-television-city-campus-sources/
and find out what the REAL intentions of CBS are.
The Media Shakeout: Will CBS keep the wolves off radio?

Pages

radioinfo ABN: 87 004 005 109  P O Box 6430 North Ryde NSW 2113 Australia.  T: 0413 790 666 02 9888 5705  |  All content © 2012. All Rights Reserved.