What You Think | radioinfo

What You Think

User Opinion Story
Editor
28 October 2010 - 5:30am
Tributes that came in to our Tiwtter and Facebook sites include the following:


David wrote:
"having met these two special people on many occasions you came away with a feeling they lived each and every day for each other. Gone but not forgotten - true legends and country music pioneers in Australia."

Felix wrote:
"vale Dot.I lived near them for some years.What a wonderful and kind couple.The legend of Smoky dies with her"

Pete wrote:
"I'm saddened to hear of Dot's passing, i too crossed paths with Dot and Smokey on numerous occasions and i'm with David, they are country music legends!"

Jason Ford wrote:
"End of an era. Old cliche but behind every man is a great woman. She was that!. It's because of Dot we have Carols by Candlelight. Greatest highlight of my life working with Smoky and Dot and sitting in the Dawson Chair at their home in Lane Cove with Dot serving up some ginger wine"

Ross Wilson wrote:
"Wonder whether Normie Rowe remembers Jamming At a Tamworth Motel with Smokey impromptu a highlight of my radio career as we were broadcasting feom the festival and replayed some of it on air Smokey and Dot hold great memories for a lot of people including me"
Vale Dot Dawson
Simon Owens
28 October 2010 - 5:30am
Dot Dawson was also an assistant to radio great NORMAN BANKS in the 1930's when he was on 3KZ.
It was in fact Dot who coined the phrase CAROLS BY CANDLELIGHT when Norman compered it for the first time in 1938.
(Source - Interview with Smokey & Dot with Bruce Mansfield and Philip Brady on 3AW)
Vale Dot Dawson
Philip Smith
21 October 2010 - 5:30am
I support Christian Radio. Sonshine FM is an excellent example of what a Christian community radio station in a capital city should sound like as far as on-air professionalism and presence is concerned. However, there is certainly room for improvement. ACMA's investigation into corporate governance issues should ring alarms bells for all Christian format stations, since in my experience, they are all weak in encouraging community participation in management and programming aspects of station operation. Very few Christian radio stations operate as 'access' radio for Christians in general. They tend to be run by professional and often highly paid elites, who gather ideological fellow travellers around them. This results in a bias toward a certain brand of evangelicalism, especially when it comes to spoken programming, and Christians with a slightly different view on matters of social engagement and theology are seldom given a voice. If ACMA's verdict on 6SON has a ripple effect across Christian stations in Australia, then we might see more variety in programming, especially spoken programs, as well as increased participation by members of the wider Christian community, which would be a good thing in my view.We could see a better selection of different expressions of Christian music as well, and a move away from a top-40 Adult contemporary format style, leading to MORE Christian songs being played. It will be a less 'safe' programming direction to take, but it may prove better in the long run. Lack of community participation on Sonshine FM Perth
Mark Sales
18 October 2010 - 5:30am
well done to Rod and Flack, much deserved. The Coast will miss them. Flack can regale Adelaidians with his sporting knowledge and his passion for the Saints! Another kind of Ryan to replace Ryan on Nova’s national drive show
Artie Stevens
16 October 2010 - 5:30am
Congratulations to Cameron Jackson on his award as Best News presenter (country) in the ACRAs. Cameron spent around 4 years reporting and presenting for AIR News before his move to Alice Springs. AIR News is proud to have been part of his development. Hamish and Andy big winners at ACRAs: Full winners list
Poul Kirk
14 October 2010 - 5:30am
I completely agree with Des. DAB+ is struggling to achieve normal FM Audio Quality due to the low Bit Rates used in transmission. Converting Advertising material received via email at a low Bit Rate possibly in MP3, to AAC+ for transmission, is guaranteed to produce poor quality sound. I believe it is impossible to convert from one audio compression format to another without serious quality loss. All material should be presented to the broadcasters as linear wave files. Avoid using email for digital radio ads
Hans Torv
14 October 2010 - 5:30am
MEDIA RELEASE
Thursday October 14th, 2010
FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

The Mal & Luke Show - The Gold Coast’s number # 1 drive home

1029 Hot Tomato’s Mal Lees & Luke Bradnam have taken out the number #1 spot in today’s Nielsen Gold Coast Radio Survey with their local drive home from 3pm – 6pm weekdays.
(*all people 10+ Mon – Fri Drive 3.00pm –7pm Share)

1029 Hot Tomato: The Mal & Luke Show 16.8%
Gold FM: The Dan & Ken Show 16.3%
Sea FM: The Benchwarmers 14.9%
(*all people 10+ Mon – Fri Drive 3.00pm –7pm Share)

Show on show in the gold coast market The Mal & Luke Show have delivered an outstanding result in the highly competitive time slot.

1029 Hot Tomato’s Mal Lees said “A great result, however we are not stopping down to celebrate as we have a show to do.”

1029 Hot Tomato’s Luke Bradnam said “All I can say is thanks to the Mal & Luke army for catapulting us to number #1. I’ve been here since the station started so to finally have a number #1 show is definitely something worth celebrating. So I am going to shout Mal a beer and Keegan a new handbag.”

1029 Hot Tomato’s General Manager Graham Miles said, “It’s a fantastic effort to achieve the number #1 drive home result and shows the commitment of Mal Lees and Luke Bradnam to entertaining the Gold Coast.”




*Source: Nielsen Media Research. Gold Coast/Tweed, Survey #2 2010. Survey period Sun Aug 8th – Sat Oct 2nd, 2010


For more information:
Graham Miles Justin Williams
General Manager Marketing & Promotions Manger
Phone 07 5519 2200 Mobile 0411 409 672 Phone 07 5519 2200 Mobile 0413 182270
Email gmiles@hot-tomato.com.au Email jwilliams@hot-tomato.com.au
Gold top, Hot Tomato gains in latest Gold Coast survey
Trevor Scott
12 October 2010 - 5:30am
There would be nothing further from the outback that is for sure. Shenanigans is a great spot but it sure ain't the Outback. Hit the Humpty Doo Hotel, Daly Waters or even Noonamah Pub, Darwin is just a small country town but it is sure not the outback
Ryan quits Monty & Wippa on eve of outback Trek
Michael Spooner
1 October 2010 - 4:30am
Heard some good stuff this morning; Rocktober - brings back the heady old days of the early 70s; concept of Rocktober: piece of gold, that. Classic Rock celebrates Rocktober
kpkeith
1 October 2010 - 4:30am
you need a dab+ receiver in a iphone, ipod, cars and anything i for dab+ to work. Otherwise this whole digital radio thing is going the way of am stereo Roam and Walker digital radio product reviews

Pages

radioinfo ABN: 87 004 005 109  P O Box 6430 North Ryde NSW 2113 Australia.  |  All content © 2012. All Rights Reserved.