What You Think | radioinfo

What You Think

User Opinion Story
T K
3 April 2018 - 8:52pm
Obviously this guy doesn't understand live radio.
Sure certain bits are better produced ... interviews, comedy bits ... but live radio is real radio. Voice-tracking is lazy. But it takes a real radio person to be able to do it live, consistently.
Live radio is lazy radio
Elleygreen
3 April 2018 - 6:52pm
Don't quite agree James. Live radio or TV is what makes listening/viewing interesting but perhaps Live + polished inserts - a la Kenny Everett - might be a good way to go?! Live radio is lazy radio
Listener for a day
3 April 2018 - 12:58pm
Just heard the BAD news that Linda Ross’s programme is being axed for the sake of sport. Can’t believe the station wouldn’t have polled the overwhelming success of this segment. The vast number of callers validate there are those out there who want this program. More sport???
Good luck, you’re loosing a vast army of listeners. Bye. Please announce when station programmers are replaced with those who are in touch with what the community wants. 954 doesn’t exist for me any more.
Talking Lifestyle dropped for sports format at 2UE
Kipper the Cat
3 April 2018 - 3:21am
For me as a listener - I much prefer listening to a live show on the radio. I enjoyed John Peel much less on the few occasions when he wasn't live and there were none of those classic John Peel moments., and you could ALWAYS tell the difference - the pre-recorded shows just seemed to lack "life"

As a broadcaster - sometimes you have to pre-record and edit a show - for example when you are presenting highlights from a recent live event. But the temptation is to over produce and polish - which I believe is just not actually appreciated by most listeners...... I would be interested in other thoughts (from a listener POV!)
Live radio is lazy radio
Noel B
2 April 2018 - 9:16am
Once again Faifax Media looking after small business by destroying big business.
Like many people warned Talking Lifestyle would fail. People do not want these constant changes ,24 hour sport crazy.
Fairfax Media destroyed SMH a once outstanding credible paper now turned into a lefty rag where you cannot believe what is printed.
They would have destroyed 2GB but for Alan Jones Singo and Hadley holding these fools at bay.
Talking Lifestyle dropped for sports format at 2UE
lezman
27 March 2018 - 10:28am
From my reading of her article, it would seem what Helen Razer is advocating is a rigged survey. Sort of like a quota system in employment, where women, ethnic migrants or indigenous minorities are selected ahead of anglo-saxon males, even if those anglo-saxon males might have better qualifications for the job.

Don't get me wrong, I support the idea of favouring women, Aborigines or migrants for positions when there is a situation of a group of people who are equally qualified for that position. But if I want to hire a person to do electronic repair work on my expensive computer systems, I'm not going to hire a woman who recently learned how to wire up a three-pin plug over a man with a certificate IV in electronics...just the same as I wouldn't hire a man over a woman if those situations were reversed.

So the survey (and I am at a disadvantage since I didn't see the article) presumably asked people to nominate their favourite radio comedian/comedienne. Now, once again, if the question were put to me and I thought a certain man was a better comedian than a certain woman, am I meant to nominate the woman instead so that we can meet some sort of quota? That just doesn't make sense. Furthermore, it's sexist...I would be nominating a woman purely on the basis that she was a woman.

The other question I would put is what was the gender make up of the survey respondents? How many women decided to respond to the survey as opposed to how many men?

True sexism, just like racism, is abhorrent and should not be tolerated. But those words are thrown about far too easily, simply because there are some in our society who think their opinions should be blindly followed by the rest of us. Surely, shouldn't true equality mean allowing us to make up our own minds about who we like as our entertainers?
Is Helen Razer really a wanker?
Bruce
26 March 2018 - 6:22am
Nothing new with her comments. Waste of space. Is Helen Razer really a wanker?
RadioTragic
24 March 2018 - 8:38pm
I wasn't convinced about the paid commentary format when it was proposed. I love John and Garry in the mornings (I ditch local Canberra radio in favor of them), learned to love Saturday and Sunday afternoons because at least it wasn't sport. Actually celebrated the departure of George and Paul and their poor white male whining in favor of Rob and Mieke.

Sports on radio means I will be watching Netflix, Foxtel and Stan, or SHOCK HORROR reading books and listening to podcasts. You've lost me.
Macquarie’s Lifestyle Dilemma: Once More unto the Breach
Talkbackfan
22 March 2018 - 4:29pm
You can't do things on the cheap in Metro Radio! Just look at the once great 2SM (a long time ago). Since being the Sydney Station for the Super Radio Network (what a dumb name!) the ratings at 2SM are so low that it is not even included in the official ratings as the owner won't pay to read that this station has come last by the length of the straight at Randwick! 2UE WAS such a great station: "always at or near the top". When Singleton bought 2GB and took Jones and Hadley from UE, the downfall began. Hopefully 2UE can be resurrected from the Talking Lifestyle mess and become 2UE ~ Talk, Sport and Entertainment .
Macquarie’s Lifestyle Dilemma: Once More unto the Breach
Talkbackfan
22 March 2018 - 4:07pm
2GB did not migrate its top rating Lifestyle shows, gardening and motoring to 2UE. I would assume that Rugby League and the Continuous call team will stay put on 2GB too. Really The CCT and NRL calls should be on 2UE Sports ~ either simulcast or exclusively. Our 2GB Macquarie won't do that. If you are not going to back a format fully, then don't introduce it.
Personally, I think a sports/talk/music format would work well: Luke Grant on Breakfast running a program similar to the one he ran on 2HD a few years back with news, sport, some interviews and some music (mostly classic hits); Follow this with a talk back from 9-12 but less of the politics and more "fun" content with competitions, short quizzes etc and bit of solid gold music as well; 12-1 could be be specialist talk back e.g health and harmony (naturopath), money and finance, motoring, pet chat, gardening; 1-4 would be solid gold music with news and some entertainment related music; 4-8 would be drive time sports including RL, Soccer, Cricket, AFL; 8-12 music and talk; 12-5 music overnight. Weekends must include a call of the NRL games in Bris and Sydney and the AFl games in Melbourne. With the Continuous Call Team or similar as part of the format.
Macquarie’s Lifestyle Dilemma: Once More unto the Breach

Pages

radioinfo ABN: 87 004 005 109  P O Box 6430 North Ryde NSW 2113 Australia.  |  All content © 2012. All Rights Reserved.