What You Think | radioinfo

What You Think

User Opinion Story
monday expert
18 June 2018 - 8:30am
Great read, Brad. Any sports success will need a mountain of Macquarie patience and, after the short-lived lifestyle experiment, I'm not sure they have enough. I hope music makes a return, in Brisbane at least. Fair Go, Sport. Macquarie needs a goal
Anthony The Koala
18 June 2018 - 6:20am

Limiting what is discussed is not healthy for any nation, I have to admit I enjoy listening to commercial radio such as 2GB. 2GB does very well raise the concerns of the ordinary citizenry in areas such as power prices, the state of our national debt and the allocation of scarce resources for rebuilding stadia instead of education. At the same time the ABC has in depth discussions on our economy, the workplace, the arts, the sciences (there are several science programs on RN) , Indigenous people, religion and life in general. In addition ABC shows have recourse to 'experts' or 'specialists' more so than commercial media with opinion makers from think tanks.

Two, if the ABC is privatised, will that affect the diversity of opinions and program content. I doubt that a privatised ABC TV will broadcast "Marriage At First Sight" or "The Price Is Right". Similarly I doubt a privatised ABC Radio will be similar to 2GB or commercial FM.

At the same time, there are commercial classical FM music stations broadcasting in the US. Perhaps one need to look at the experience of New Zealand's broadcasting system where TV One and Radio New Zealand were once government-owned. One could also ask whether the New Zealand citizen is well informed.

In conclusion, I would not like to see the closure of the ABC, nor do I want to see RN disappear. On the other hand, if a future government wants to privatise the ABC, it had better be very careful as to the program content and whether stations such as RN would survive being a commercial station. A future government may well look at New Zealand's privatised national TV and radio broadcasters.

Thank you,
Anthony of exciting Belfield
Why the ABC will never be ‘Fair and Balanced.’ And won’t be sold either.
Anthony The Koala
18 June 2018 - 5:53am
I fully concur with the article. 2GB's Mr Ray Hadley has said many times to dissatisfied callers and emailers, "...there's the off switch..." There is no-one 'holding a gun' to the listener's head forcing the person to listen to a particular program. Similarly one can vote with the 'frequency (analogue) or channel (dab) control. While 2GB is the market leader in Sydney at 12%, there are 88% of listeners not listening to 2GB.

The calls made by News Ltd over the decades and recently by 2GB to eliminate or reduce the ABC is not new. Two issues to consider, closing down the ABC and privatising the ABC. Both affect the narratives in the national discourse.

First, closing down the ABC entirely would reduce CO2 emissions by switching off all transmitters and studios especially TV studios. In terms of the national discourse, if commercial media was the only source of national discourse, Australia would be limited to thinking about products and one kind of political thinking. It's no better than totalitarian countries broadcasting one political viewpoint and way of thinking. The result is not having diverse views and we the listener or viewer not being able coming to our own conclusions and view. We are better informed with diverse views on both commercial and the ABC. We are

Why the ABC will never be ‘Fair and Balanced.’ And won’t be sold either.
Eugene Delargy
11 June 2018 - 11:51am
All at the expense of their in market station, 96.9 which long before the full acquisition by SCA's forefathers of the station commissioned a local TX and studios with local programming.

All of which has gone with SCA's cookie cutter slash and burn.

Why bother streaming the station, simply take over the translator frequency and switch to FOX as the input?

SCA's bean counters will love it, great test example for them to ditch market specific regional programming altogether. They can use their Alexa partnership to automate local content in the longer metro ad breaks whilst they work on legislators to drop the LCLCs altogether.

Remember, no pipeline is needed, SCA use their metro digital allocations to develop talent now.
Fox FM renews partnership with Mt Buller
Diana Da Silva
8 June 2018 - 7:20am
My previous background was a sales and marketing consultant for basically all kinds of businesses for over 10 years. I probably worked with over a 100 clients and NOT ONE of them had a clean CRM! Yes, salespeople tended to be the leaders in inputting bad data (if at all), it's the leaders who are responsible for all of those points you mentioned. There are sooooo many great uses for a CRM full of clean data and this could even lead to increased sales. Yes, it's can be a tedious task to do a clean up manually but there are lots of tools out there can help. Become informed and choose what's best for your company. How to Supercharge your Sales Process and CRM
Aussiecam58
7 June 2018 - 7:34am
I can't see any reason for any radio station to remain on the AM band. Can anyone suggest a reason why to stay on it? FM switch proposed for Northern Tasmania key regions
Anthony The Koala
5 June 2018 - 2:49pm
I wish to make a comment on the new talking sport format:
Despite a near 50% reduction ((3.5-1.9)/3.5*100=47%) in the Sydney audience for 2UE's transition from a talking lifestyle to a talking sport, it remains the market leader by 270% (1.9/0.7) compared to 2KY. I am not privy to the weekend ratings for Saturday and Sunday afternoons and evenings in order to compare the other entrants to the sporting market, 2SM and MMM so cannot comment.

Melbourne's SEN is the market leader on 3.4 compared to talking sport's 0.4.

An advantage of DAB broadcasting is the concept of pop-up or trial radio. In Perth, talking sport rates a cumulative audience of 2 compared to ABC Grandstand's 17. Based on one survey, a more permanent fixture would not be economically effective.

In the Melbourne and Brisbane markets, the audience did not change on 0.4 and 0.5 respectively. However, when it was a talking lifestyle format, MML as reported earlier reviewed the format and changed. It appears that if the audience does not improve, the talking sport format will be reviewed.

Both talking lifestyle and talking sport formats are labour-intensive. The relationship between risk and reward is that the bolder the move the higher the payoff. If the audience does not increase, the payoff may not be there.

But then, what have MML done to promote awareness of the new sporting talk format apart from the cross promotion by its sibling stations 2GB, 3AW and 4BC?

While the result is for one survey only, it would take another one or at most two surveys to determine whether the talking sport format works. Recall under the talking lifestyle format, the return was only 7% of overall revenue (based on the financial report).

If at worst the stations revert to music, don't go for that hackneyed oldies/golden memories/classic hits formats. There is nothing inherently wrong with the music, but realise there are already stations in Sydney alone broadcasting the classic hits format: 2CH, Smooth, 2WS, MMM-classic, Fun, 80s, 90s, Zoo.

Regards
Anthony of exciting Belfield
Survey 3 results posted at 9:30 this morning
Des DeCean
1 June 2018 - 4:39pm
I like so many, was stunned a few days ago to learn of the sudden passing of Mark Downes.
I first met Mark when Austereo appointed him to become my replacement at Austereo as I was approaching retirement. Mark embraced radio and the Austereo culture from day 1 and quickly started introducing systems and changes from the extensive knowledge he had gathered working in television prior to joining Austereo.
Mark was a people person. A great communicator and a carer and nurturer of all on his team.
Mark later moved on from Austereo and ultimately finished up as Chief Technology Officer at Nova Entertainment. The many comments that have been posted in the last few days are a testament to the warm and supportive relationships that he built with all fellow work colleagues.
The loss of Mark and his leadership and team building skills will be sadly missed by all who have known him. My heartfelt condolences go out to Marks wife and children
Des DeCean
Mark Downes, NOVA Chief Technology Officer, has passed away
Anthony The Koala
1 June 2018 - 4:31pm
Budget cuts to the ABC are not new. It happened in the 1976-1977 budget where Mr Fraser's government froze funding to the organization. The ABC still survived and will survive.

Consider the financial period 1976-1977 and beyond to the mid 1980s, a lot of ABC TV programming in the mid-morning and afternoons consisted of broadcasting the Philips PM5544 test-pattern with music.Today we seem to be doing more with less.

I've said elsewhere leave Radio National ('RN') alone. The rumour listed above on the possible merger of Radio National and NewsRadio is very vague. Some of NewsRadio's programs are replays of RN's. Does it mean close the NewsRadio frequency and 'lump' it onto RN's programming or vice-versa?

The ABC is broadcasting more content via extra TV channels, 22, 23, 24, extra radio DAB channels, Jazz, Country, Grandstand, 'Extra'/'Kids'. It also has a web-streaming presence not even contemplated in 1976-1977.

Some cuts to consider:
Do we need channels 22 and 23 where the non-evening services are similar? Perhaps amalgamate some of the digital tv services to save costs and put ABC-classic fm on digital-only (DAB) but with a high data rate. With the latter, the ABC could save money and reduce CO2 emissions by eliminating the VHF transmissions of ABC-fm.

Speaking of reducing CO2 emissions, why do the ABC metropolitan radio stations need 50kW transmissions when other stations seem to do well on 5kW transmitters. Some savings there in energy costs. Even ABC transmitters in the rural areas are broadcasting 50kW , the other stations seem to survive running on 2kW and 5kW.

The hierarchical nature of a public service organization:
When there are talks of cuts to ABC services, it seems that the programming output gets the greater proportion of the cuts than the rest of the organization. My academic guess is the real costs are due to the hierarchical nature of a public-service type organization.

During the industrial dispute of the early 1990s, someone I knew working at the ABC then said " the the number of managers have increased at the expense of people doing the work." To put it another way, change the nature of the hierarchical structures. Give the worker more autonomy, pay them a little more and flatten the hierarchy and leave the managers to organize the rosters.

In sum, the ABC when facing costs, could look at amalgamating channels 22 and 23, moving ABC-classic to DAB only, reduce the transmissions costs and reduce CO2 by reducing transmitting power and flatten the hierarchy.

I would rather have that than calls by News Ltd's media outlets to eliminate the ABC because it against News Ltd's interests. Those calls have been around for decades.

Regards
Anthony of Belfield
Closures and mergers rumoured to be under consideration at ABC
Fuzcapp
1 June 2018 - 10:32am
A travesty. What the hell is wrong with SCA to let this go? Note everything is about monetizing. SCA-backed Kinderling Kids Radio partners with ARN

Pages

radioinfo ABN: 87 004 005 109  P O Box 6430 North Ryde NSW 2113 Australia.  |  All content © 2012. All Rights Reserved.