What You Think | radioinfo

What You Think

User Opinion Story
Joan Warner
23 November 2011 - 5:30am
Given there are 260 commercial radio stations across 105 LAPS, with the 220 regional commercial radio stations subject to legislated hours of local content monitored by the ACMA, plus metro commercial stations producing large amounts of local content, this claim is debatable. One third of community stations are the only local station in the market
Ian Holland
22 November 2011 - 5:30am
I worked with Ian a little back in the days of the AWA Radio Network. A nice guy, a real enthusiast and somebody who made a real contribution to our industry.

My condolences to Ian's family. He will be missed
Vale Ian Marshman
Ty Frost
22 November 2011 - 5:30am
Thanks for your words Ian. Vale Ian Marshman
Nick Wallis
22 November 2011 - 5:30am
I'm not sure this is the right kind of campaign... This doesn't inspire me to go shopping, and I'm not a huge fan of shopping in the first place.

I still am concerned about my money, want to save for a house and don't want to spend frivolously. This campaign doesn't give me the warm and fuzzies about shopping... it actually feels almost patronising.

I want to know where I can get the things I want for a cheap price, and I want to know that workers are being paid properly and I want to know if the products are sourced ethically.
Commercial Radio gives retailers a helping hand
Artie Stevens
21 November 2011 - 5:30am
This continues our theory that Commercial radio in general has abdicated its responsibilities in regard to local markets. There are exceptions, like Black spot broadcaster Flow FM, but the exceptions are few and far between.
Unfortunately many Community stations are still their own worst enemy when it comes to consolidating their potential audience share in the face of this Commercial abdication.
Far too many members of Community stations view professional as commercial, and others believe the programming is all about them rather than the listener.
Thankfully for the Community sector, not all are tarred with the "amateur" brush, and many serve their community and listeners well.
One third of community stations are the only local station in the market
Christopher Carpenter
17 November 2011 - 5:30am
Looks like another fantastic CBAA Event.

Wish I was there! Maybe next year?

Chris Crash Carpenter
Adelaide's 88.7 Coast FM
CBAA Conference begins on Gold Coast
Voicebox
12 November 2011 - 5:30am
Geeez even we suburbia community stations are aware of this one all you need to do is run low frequency tone that is inaudible to the ear and you get your silence - to not take precautions like this ..... that is simply disrespectful - embarrassing. One minute Rememberance Day silence... almost
Banquo's Ghost
10 November 2011 - 5:30am
Well, that one's going to have the competition insurance underwriters in a panic; I'm going to guess that competition insurance premiums for radio and TV promotions are about to rocket! It should be compulsory to have a "comp-cam" at each of these draws - not looking at the contestants, but at the Promotions Director's (and/or PD's) face when the prize goes off. How much was the excess??? Vampire lovers win $1 million with 2Day's Dawn OB
4AK
9 November 2011 - 5:30am
You could also say the same about Jim Vasey as well. The way he left after many years in the business could of been conducted a lot better as well. It is up to us to grow the overall Radio pie: SCA's Jeremy Simpson
The Shadow
8 November 2011 - 5:30am
Something that frustrates me is that Southern Cross Austereo are all over the metro stations and even the Gold Coast when it comes to ratings et al, but they seem to ignore KO and NX even though they're the company's biggest raters.

Why is that SCA?

You have pics/profiles/ratings info of your teams, including the Gold Coast on http://seeradiodifferently.com/media/in-the-news/ --- but nothing on Newcastle. Start to appreciate these 2 stations a little bit more please. I'm sure your staff would appreciate the recognition they deserve.
NX FM drops but still number one in Newcastle Survey 3

Pages

radioinfo ABN: 87 004 005 109  P O Box 6430 North Ryde NSW 2113 Australia.  |  All content © 2012. All Rights Reserved.