What You Think | radioinfo

What You Think

User Opinion Story
Anthony The Koala
27 February 2020 - 11:43pm
I have visited the site and found the two samples from the "Twisted Tunes" section (at the bottom of the page) to be quite amusing.

The first tune was the "Baby Shark" song with accordion and a 2/4 beat. The original song with over 4 billion downloads is at https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XqZsoesa55w .

The second tune "Khe San" would even be more twisted if it had bass and a bossa nova rhythm. It would sound similar to elevator music played on 2CH during the beautiful music/good music format.

Finally "twisted tunes" segment reminds me of the segment on the ABC's "Spicks and Specks" where for example a ukulele band or Mariachi band would play contemporary music.

Thank you
Anthony of amusing Belfield
A new program by Barry Bissell - but you choose the music!
ceejay
25 February 2020 - 3:39pm
... and the ABC want the taxpayer to cough up more money for their role as "emergency broadcaster" (mostly out of a studio in Melbourne far away from the actual emergency) ... Local Still Matters
Anthony The Koala
25 February 2020 - 8:02am
If you want to see the demolition of the tower from different angles, there's a 1min48s video at https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VvWLYDBw5Ek .

The 2GB transmitter is located with at the Sky Sports Radio Site while 2UE's tx is located with 2SM's site.
Source: https://www.acma.gov.au/sites/default/files/2020-02/BroadcastTransmitterExcel.zip click AM tab

Thank you,
Anthony of never-too-late Belfield
2GB transmission tower comes down
Anthony The Koala
24 February 2020 - 3:09am
Dear Mr Saxon,
Having read the article, the list appears to how well the presenters do in their time slot and the possible bonuses for attracting clients to the presenter's employ. Fair enough, the sales department alone may not be the only source of attracting advertising clients.

If the power list was on ratings alone, then what about for example 2BL's (ABC702) presenters who attract ratings. For example James Valentine (1200-1600) and Richard Glover (1600-1900). On many ratings results Richard Glover is ahead of 2GB's Ben Fordham.

Thank you,
Anthony of exciting Belfield

Radio Power Rankings – are they for real?
Anthony The Koala
21 February 2020 - 9:40pm
Dear Mr StJohn,
Again thank you for your response in regards the practicalities of the type of antennae on vehicles and boats, the lawful administration of the sale of receivers and minimum power supply requirements. I will make one further remark on the supply of information to the DRM receivers.

Antennae on vehicles and boats receiving satellite signals:
Given that vehicles and boats have a simple dipole antenna to receive satellite signals the gains of those antennas would not be as desirable as an "expensive" arrangement of servo motors maintaining the correct direction of the 'dish' towards the satellite while the vehicle or boat is in motion.

Regulating the minimum standard of receivers via the ACMA (formerly the ABCB):
The ACMA indeed supplies standards for all kinds of equipment even non-broadcasting equipment. For example the ACMA have a publication on electromagnetic compatibility (EMC) for items such as cars and its insulation OR indeed any electrical product sold on the market, eg reference https://www.acma.gov.au/publications/2019-06/standard/acma-mandated-emc-standard .

In fact the ACMA have a reporting system for products that do not meet any standards under s376 of the Telecommunications Act(Cth), s162 of the Radiocommunications Act (Cth) and s9A of the Broadcasting Services Act (Cth), at https://www.acma.gov.au/technical-standards .

To illustrate, the ACMA has the power to make minimum standards under s162(1)(a) the performance of a radio receiver and the number of standards s162(2)(b). The standard also applies in regards health and safety, s162(3).

The ACMA has the power to enforce compliance. For example a failure to comply with the "parental lock" standards may incur a penalty of $165000, source, https://www.acma.gov.au/technical-standards#human-exposure-standards.

Whatever standard administered by the ACMA there is an underlying Act and particular legislative instrument.

Any standards not listed in the Act requires The Federal Parliament to amend the Act(s) and Legislative Instrument(s). An application StJohn mentions may well be that the legislative instrument cover all DRM and DAB+ receivers to be fully specified such as the the full display.

May I add the receiver have a wireless or wired network connection for communication back to any website or broadcaster. StJohn mentioned in previous comments that hyperlinks are part of the DRM/DAB standard in text.

Power supply requirements - half wave rectifiers and switch mode supplies.
It would not surprise me that power that was only half-wave rectified by an appliance would result in DC current being fed back into the household power supply. From basic chemistry, where the medium is an electrolyte any metals connected to the electrolyte is corroded by the flow of DC. That would practically mean any metals connected to a 'salty' electrolytic soil such as a copper wire earth would corrode.

An aside: that may well explain why the salty marshes in the vicinity of the Homebush Bay area, the location of Sydney's commercial AM and SBS AM radio stations' antenna are a great ground plane for the propogation of MW waves.

Returning to power supplies. It is highly likely that today's power supplies for small lower power or high power appliances are switchmode power supplies as the norm instead of full-wave rectification.

A consequence of switchmode power supplies is that they generate RF and as such are regulated by the ACMA in order that the generated RF is at a minimum level. Section 48(1) of the Radiocommunications Act defines a power supply that uses an electric plug as a radiocommunications device! That also includes rectified power supplies!

In addition to the definition of a radiocommunications device, regardless of whether the power supply is regulated linear, full or half wave rectified or switch mode, ALL appliances must meet the minimum EMC standard https://www.acma.gov.au/sites/default/files/2020-02/ACMA-mandated%20EMC%20standards.pdf .

Supplying information to the DRM's emergency system:
During emergencies, our Police keep the social order, apprehend looters, block roads, prevent people from entering their unsafe premises or prevent people from entering their own local area because it is dangerous to the person's safety.

Again there must be an administrative protocol for handling the dissemination of emergency information from the BOM, RFS, SES and Police. Yes our Police have a role in informing people that certain roads are blocked.

But who will inform the affected people where people can find temporary refuge or even alternative routes? That is another reason for an administrative protocol on the supply of information to the DRM's emergency system.

Thank you,
Anthony of researching Belfield
Commercial Radio wants a nationwide roll out of DAB+ for emergencies
Wendy Jane
21 February 2020 - 2:18pm
Very sad news, and what an unfailingly charming man he was. Such a lovely tribute from Peter Saxon and I personally send a message of comfort and love to all who knew and loved Mal. Requiescat in Pacem. Vale Mal Hedstrom
madman
21 February 2020 - 12:33pm
Well that rebranding should avoid any confusion. SCA rebrands Redwave Media Western Australia stations
madman
21 February 2020 - 12:30pm
A great talent and fun to work alongside. Rest in Peace. Vale Peter McMurray 'Croc'
JohnnyRogers
21 February 2020 - 10:09am
Mal also briefly worked as I recall at 2KA in 1978. Vale Mal Hedstrom
Salesy
21 February 2020 - 5:04am
I listened to Mal as a child when he was working afternoons on KOFM. Him and his famous "Animal Hoooooouse" segment, doing lost pets.

In 2017 I was honoured to be a colleague of Mighty Mal... working at KOFM. He would be doing weekends and if I was rostered on after him, I would get there hours ahead of time just to sit in Studio 1 and chew the fat. The memories of 2SM, his time with the Super Radio Network, Mildura and his time at 2NX and 2KO.

He finished up last year with us and I knew he was unwell again. But this is still a shock to us. He met my mum and family and was an absolute gentlemen to them.

I hope you're at peace now my friend and free from pain.
Vale Mal Hedstrom

Pages

radioinfo ABN: 87 004 005 109  P O Box 6430 North Ryde NSW 2113 Australia.  |  All content © 2012. All Rights Reserved.