CBAA Conference: Digital Dancing and Award Winners | radioinfo

CBAA Conference: Digital Dancing and Award Winners

Thursday 06 December, 2007
New CBAA president Deb Welch has a good ear for radio

Delegates to the Community Broadcasting Association’s annual conference elected Radio Adelaide’s Deb Welch (pictured) as president, in elections held during the Melbourne CBAA conference last weekend.

Some of the key issues on the conference agenda were the change over to digital radio, web 2.0, and funding.

Speakers at the Digital Radio session told the audience the community sector will need to “dance with other radio sectors” to achieve the best outcomes as community radio goes digital.

CBAA General Manager Barry Melville said the sector has so far achieved “limited successful outcomes,” in terms of policy, but that the next challenge will be the issue of the “combined allocation” of spectrum and the corporate mechanisms to facilitate the sharing of multiplex facilities.

“The company structure required for digital radio could be expensive and unwieldy… shared transmission and this sort of business collaboration is new territory for us. There is a tight timeframe and immense challenges,” Melville told the conference.

The CBAA is managing the process towards digital radio and has appointed Ian Laird as digital radio project manager.

At the CBAA’s awards dinner, Noosa Community Radio won the prestigious Radio Station of the Year award. 2BOB FM won the Tony Staley Award and Geoff Williams was honoured for his 25 year contribution to community radio with the Michael Law Award.

Senator Conroy speaks at the CBAA Conference.

CBAA 2007 Award Winners list:

1. Best Innovative New Program/Segment Idea

6EBA for ImaginArt produced by Olivia Holmes

Highly commended:

Radio Adelaide for 5 Tables for 5: Conversations Around Queer Ageing produced by Logan Bold

2. Excellence in Training

3CR/Rooming House Radio for the Roominations initiative produced by 3CR

Highly commended:

Noosa Community Radio for the TEN2AIR Pilot Youth Training & Mentor Project coordinated by Miki Venn - Brown & Sherry Corcoran

3. Can’t Get Out Of The Car Award

JOY 94.9 for Allegro Non Troppo produced by Addam Stobbs, Peter Fortey & Robert Brierley

Highly commended:

3RPH for Talk the Talk with Tess Lawrence - Hoddle St Massacre Anniversary produced by Tess Lawrence & 2SER for Razor's Edge produced by Robert Mailer

4. Contribution to Local Music Proudly sponsored by APRA

Triple R for The Australian Mood produced by Neil Rogers

Highly commended:

Twin Cities FM for WA Music Department

5. Excellence in Music Programming sponsored by the PPCA

2SER for The Phantom Dancer produced by Greg Poppleton

Highly commended:

Triple R for The Skull Cave produced Stephen Walker

6. Contribution to Indigenous Broadcasting presented by AICA

Koori Radio for The Sweet Science produced by Patrick Skene, Brad Cooke & Claude Williams

Highly commended:

6EBA for Whadjuk Radio produced by Ethel Wallam & Kylie Farmer & 3CR for Fire First produced by Robbie Thorpe & Clare Lands

7. Contribution to Ethnic Broadcasting


Highly commended:

98.9 North West FM for Viva Italia produced by Carlo Giampietro

8. Excellence in Spoken Word Programming proudly sponsored by Deutsche Welle

3CR for Radio New Internationalist

Highly commended:

2XX for Opening Minds

9. Innovative Place/Subject for an Outside Broadcast

Triple R for The Architects produced by Simon Knott, Stuart Harrison & Rory Hyde

10. Best Sponsorship Announcement or Promotion

JOY 94.9 for The Blind Factory produced by Conrad Browne

Highly commended:

2NSB for The FM 99.3 Vinyl Appeal produced by James Vyver

11. Innovative Sponsorship or Fundraising Idea

Radio Five-O-Plus for Follies coordinated by June Roberts

12. Best Special Event Broadcast

Radio Adelaide for the 2007 Festival of Ideas produced by Deborah Welch & Darren Van Schaik

Highly commended:

JOY 94.9 for HIV Special - The Facts 2007 produced by Tim Newton & 3CR for On the Record - 20 Years of Women's Radio produced by Women on the Line

13. Troy Garner Excellence in Sports Programming

FBi for Fire Up produced by Stephen Ferris & Brett Oaten

Highly commended:

Koori Radio for The Sweet Science produced by Patrick Skene, Brad Cooke & Claude Williams

14. Best Use of New Media Technologies

SYN for Syncasting created by Ken McLean

Highly commended:

PBA FM for Why Wouldn’t You Feel Happy Coming Here? produced by Tony Ryan

15. Best News and Current Affairs Programming

Radio Adelaide, 4EB & 2SER for The Wire

Highly commended:

3RPH for Talk the Talk with Tess Lawrence - Iraq Hostage

16. New Voices

4ZZZ for Banana's In the Hood by Giordana Caputo

Highly commended in this category is 6EBA for The Edge

17. Radio Station of the Year

Noosa Community Radio

18. Tony Staley Award


19. Michael Law Award

Geoff Williams

Click below for more details.

Post a Comment


Log InYou must be logged in to post comments.
radioinfo ABN: 87 004 005 109  P O Box 6430 North Ryde NSW 2113 Australia.  |  All content © 2012. All Rights Reserved.