Senator Mitch Fifield | radioinfo

Senator Mitch Fifield

Historic day for 3YB

Monday 03 July, 2017
When breakfast announcers at 3YB and Coast FM turn on their microphones tomorrow morning, listeners might not hear much of a difference immediately.

But both Jon and Kate (3YB) and Monkey and the Big Fella (Coast) will be broadcasting from a state of the art media centre that is designed to deliver services to a local community that is rapidly demanding more from its media outlets.

Interim financial relief announced for Australian broadcasters

Wednesday 28 June, 2017

As the Government works to reform media laws aimed at supporting the viability of local organisations facing increasing global competition in a rapidly changing digital landscape, Communications Minister Senator Mitch Fifield has announced interim financial relief to Australian broadcasters "in the wake of Labor’s refusal to back reforms that support the viability of the Australian media industry and secure thousands of jobs".

Russel Howcroft appointed AFTRS Chair

Tuesday 16 May, 2017

Former advertising and television executive Russel Howcroft is the new chair of the Australian Film Television and Radio School.

Senator Mitch Fifield revealed the appointment at today's ACMA Content Conference in Sydney.

It was in December last year Howcroft resigned from his role as executive general manager at Network Ten Melbourne moving to PwC, and the newly created role of Chief Creative Officer.

Media Reform: Crashed & Burned

Tuesday 14 February, 2017

Comment from Brad Smart

Process begins to appoint new ABC Chairperson

Wednesday 14 December, 2016

The ABC is looking for a new chairman, with the present Chair's tenure to end early next year.

The Turnbull Government has requested the Independent Nomination Panel for the Australian Broadcasting Corporation to conduct a selection process to appoint a new Chairperson to the ABC Board.

The request comes as the term of the current Chairperson, the Hon James Spigelman AC QC, is due to conclude on 31 March 2017.

“Switch to Mitch” Communications Minister to appear at National Radio Conference

Friday 16 September, 2016

Communications Minister, Senator the Hon Mitch Fifield will speak in person at this year’s National Radio Conference in Melbourne.

Budget rewards ABC for "achieving efficiencies" with no cuts

Tuesday 03 May, 2016

The Turnbull Government will maintain the current level of base funding for the ABC and SBS over the next three years.

From Communications Minister Mitch Fifield's office came the following statement:

Facts and figures from Fifield on media law changes

Wednesday 30 March, 2016

Speaking at the Melbourne Press Club today, Communications Minister Mitch Fifield outlined more details of the effects of hsi government's proposed media law changes.

In many cases, for regional radio, there would be no effects, explained Fifield. He also discussed licence fees and digital radio.

The Australian media landscape, along with the entire world, has changed immeasurably. Yet much of the law that governs the traditional media formats of commercial radio, commercial TV and newspapers stems from that year – 1987.

Mitch Fifield: Media Law is stuck like a faulty dial on an old analogue TV

Wednesday 16 March, 2016

Communications Minister Mitch Fifield has addressed the National Press Club pointing the finger at Senators trying to undermine his media degregulation bill.

New ACMA executive appointments

Thursday 25 February, 2016

The Australian Communications and Media Authority’s (ACMA) Deputy Chairman, Richard Bean, will take on the role of Acting Chairman, effective Saturday 27 February, while Full-time Authority Member James Cameron will become Acting Deputy Chair.

The changes, confirmed by the Minister for Communications Senator the Hon Mitch Fifield today, follow the retirement tomorrow of Chris Chapman at the conclusion of his 10-year tenure at the ACMA (consisting of two five-year appointments). 

Subscribe to RSS - Senator Mitch Fifield
radioinfo ABN: 87 004 005 109  P O Box 6430 North Ryde NSW 2113 Australia.  |  All content © 2012. All Rights Reserved.