media reform bill | radioinfo

media reform bill

Full details of the media reform package

Thursday 14 September, 2017

Small and regional publishers will get subsidies to employ journos and commercial broadcasters will have their licence fees abolished.

Media law reforms pass the Senate, CRA welcomes changes

Thursday 14 September, 2017
The Federal Government's bill to change media regulations and ownership laws has passed the Senate, 31 votes to 27.

The Government secured the support of the Nick Xenophon Team and One Nation to pass the bill, with trade offs including support for more journalism jobs to satisfy Nick Xenophon and the possibility of a review of the ABC charter to satisfy Pauline Hanson.

'Change is crucial to bring media regulation into the digital age' #supportausmedia

Wednesday 31 May, 2017

"Change is crucial to bring media regulation into the digital age and preserve the future viability of the sector, which supports more than 30,000 jobs," said a joint statement from Australia's Media CEOs from Canberra today.

Derryn Hinch in favour of government media reform bill

Wednesday 31 May, 2017
As 25 senior executives from television, radio and press converge on Canberra today in hopes of ensuring the government's media reform bill passes, Senator Derryn Hinch says he too is in favour of changes.

Senator Hinch supports scrapping the two-out-of-three rule which prevents control of a single market.

As a former radio journalist, it's no surprise he agrees with the media industry's argument that changes must be made to the outdated media laws.

TV, newspaper and radio CEOs to unite in Canberra

Monday 29 May, 2017

Chief executives from Australia’s major commercial and subscription TV, newspaper and radio companies will converge on Canberra in an unprecedented show of unity on Wednesday to demonstrate support for the Federal Government’s broadcast and media reform package.

Subscribe to RSS - media reform bill
radioinfo ABN: 87 004 005 109  P O Box 6430 North Ryde NSW 2113 Australia.  |  All content © 1996-2021. All Rights Reserved.